Skip to main content

Seminar Series

The Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis is sponsoring a Seminar Series on a wide variety of economic topics. Economists from across the country and around the world are invited to participate.

Unless otherwise noted, seminars will be held in the "Ted Balbach Conference Room" (formerly Research Conference Room), Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, One Federal Reserve Bank Plaza, at the corner of Broadway and Locust Street, St. Louis, MO. Seminars held at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis are open to the public. If you wish to attend, you must contact us via email at Research.Seminar@stls.frb.org at least 24 hours in advance. All attendees are required to go though a security screening and will be asked to show a valid photo ID.

Questions or suggestions should be directed to Research.Seminar@stls.frb.org.

2020 Seminar Series

Mon, Jan 06 12:00pm
Speaker: Don Schlagenhauf, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"The Kansas Tax Experiment and the Matter of the Legal Form of Organization"

Tue, Jan 07 12:00pm
Speaker: Yi Wen, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"What Does Financial Crisis Tell Us About Exporter Behavior and Credit Reallocation"

Thu, Feb 13 12:00pm
Speaker: Yang Tang, Nanyang Technological University
Host: Carlos Garriga
"The Distributional Impacts of Transportation Network in China"

Wed, Feb 19 12:00pm
Speaker: Paulina Restrepo-Echavarria, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Resource Curse or Blessing? Sovereign Risk in Resource-Rich Emerging Economies"

Mon, Feb 24 12:00pm
Speaker: Joseba Martinez, London Business School
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"Automation, Growth and Factor Shares"

Thu, Mar 05 12:00pm
Speaker: Kilian Huber, University of Chicago-Booth
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"Tracing the International Transmission of a Crisis Through Multinational Firms"

Mon, Mar 30 12:00pm
Speaker: Julian Kozlowski, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Macroeconomic Implications of Uniform Pricing"

Mon, Apr 13 12:00pm
Speaker: David Andolfatto, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Yield Curve Control and Liquidity Insurance"

Mon, May 18 11:30 AM
Speaker: Sergio Rebelo, Northwestern University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"The Macroeconomics of Epidemics"

Fri, May 29 12:00pm
Speaker: Oksana Leukhina, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Sorting of Students into Colleges: Inefficiencies and Policy Implications"

Thu, Jun 04 11:00 AM
Speaker: Jesse Schreger, Columbia University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"Redrawing the Map of Global Capital Flows: The Role of Cross-Border Financing and Tax Havens"

Mon, Jun 08 11:00 AM
Speaker: Guillaume Vandenbroucke, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Social Distancing in an Epidemic"

Thu, Jun 11 11:10 AM
Speaker: Fernando Leibovici, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"International Trade of Essential Goods During a Pandemic"

Mon, Jul 06 11:00 AM
Speaker: Miguel Faria-e-Castro, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Measuring Sectoral Supply and Demand Shocks during COVID-19"

Fri, Jul 24 11:00 AM
Speaker: Serdar Birinci, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"How Should Unemployment Insurance Vary over the Business Cycle?"

Mon, Aug 03 11:00 AM
Speaker: Subhayu Bandyopadhyay, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Counterterrorism Policy: Spillovers, Regime Stability, and Corner Solutions"

Tue, Aug 04 11:00 AM
Speaker: YiLi Chien, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Optimal Inflation Target --- A Reconciliation Between Theory and Practice"

Wed, Aug 05 11:00 AM
Speaker: Alexander Monge-Naranjo, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Of Cities and Slums"

Thu, Aug 13 11:00 AM
Speaker: Michael Owyang, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Revisiting the Fed’s Forecast Advantage"

Fri, Sep 11 11:00 AM
Speaker: Michael McCracken, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

Thu, Sep 17 11:00 AM
Speaker: Nicolas Crouzet, Northwestern University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Mon, Sep 28 11:00 AM
Speaker: Fernando Martin, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

Wed, Sep 30 11:00 AM
Speaker: Roger Farmer, University of California, Los Angeles
Host: Yi Wen
"The Importance of Beliefs in Shaping Macroeconomic Outcomes"

Thu, Oct 08 11:00 AM
Speaker: Maximiliano Dvorkin, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

Wed, Oct 14 12:00pm
Speaker: Harold Cole, University of Pennsylvania
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Wed, Oct 21 11:00 AM
Speaker: Jonathan Heathcote, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Host: YiLi Chien
"TBD"

Tue, Nov 03 11:00 AM
Speaker: William Dupor, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

Mon, Nov 09 12:00pm
Speaker: Basile Grassi, Bocconi University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Tue, Nov 10 12:00pm
Speaker: Marco Bassetto, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Host: YiLi Chien
"TBD"

Thu, Nov 12 11:00 AM
Speaker: Diego Perez, New York University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Tue, Nov 24 12:00pm
Speaker: Laura Blattner, Stanford Graduate School of Business
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Mon, Dec 07 11:00 AM
Speaker: David Wheelock, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

Fri, Dec 11 11:00 AM
Speaker: B. Ravikumar, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

Past Seminars