Skip to main content

Seminar Series

The Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis is sponsoring a Seminar Series on a wide variety of economic topics. Economists from across the country and around the world are invited to participate.

Unless otherwise noted, seminars will be held in the "Ted Balbach Conference Room" (formerly Research Conference Room), Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, One Federal Reserve Bank Plaza, at the corner of Broadway and Locust Street, St. Louis, MO. Seminars held at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis are open to the public. If you wish to attend, you must contact us via email at Research.Seminar@stls.frb.org at least 24 hours in advance. All attendees are required to go though a security screening and will be asked to show a valid photo ID.

Questions or suggestions should be directed to Research.Seminar@stls.frb.org.

2019 Seminar Series

Wed, Feb 20 12:00pm
Speaker: Violeta Gutkowski, Brown University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"Sovereign Debt Restructuring and Recovery"

Thu, Feb 21 12:00pm
Speaker: Cristina Arellano, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Host: Faria-e-Castro
"Sovereign Default Risk and Firm Heterogeneity"

Fri, Feb 22 2:00pm *
Speaker: David Rivers, Western University
Host: Sungki Hong
"The ABCs of Firm Heterogeneity: The Effects of Demand and Cost Differences on Exporting"

Tue, Feb 26 12:00pm
Speaker: Fabio Braggion, Tilburg University
Host: Riccardo DiCecio
"Can Technology Undermine Macroprudential Regulation? Evidence from Peer-to-Peer Credit in China"

Wed, Feb 27 12:00pm
Speaker: Axelle Ferriere, Paris School of Economics
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"Escaping the Losses from Trade: The Impact of Heterogeneity on Skill Acquisition"

Thu, Feb 28 12:00pm
Speaker: Loukas Karabarbounis, University of Minnesota
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"Inferring Inequality with Home Production"

Wed, Mar 06 12:00pm
Speaker: Rohan Kekre, The University of Chicago Booth
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"The Macroeconomics of the Greek Depression"

Wed, Mar 13 12:00pm
Speaker: Abdoulaye Ndiaye, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"Flexible Retirement and Optimal Taxation"

Mon, Mar 18 12:00pm
Speaker: Sungki Hong, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Size-Based Tax Policies and Investment Dynamics"

Thu, Mar 21 12:00pm
Speaker: Karen Lewis, University of Pennsylvania-The Wharton School
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"The U.S. Equity Listing Decline and the Aggregate Economy"

Mon, Mar 25 12:00pm
Speaker: Yi Wen, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Optimal Ramsey Taxation in Heterogeneous Agent Economies with Quasi‐Linear Preferences"

Tue, Mar 26 12:00pm
Speaker: Neil Mehrotra, Brown University
Host: Maximiliano Dvorkin
"Debt Sustainability in a Low Interest Rate World"

Wed, Mar 27 12:00pm
Speaker: Guillermo Ordonez, University of Pennsylvania
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"Retirement in the Shadow (Banking)"

Fri, Mar 29 12:00pm
Speaker: Oksana Leukhina, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Imperfect Information Transmission from Banks to Investors: Macroeconomic Implications"

Tue, Apr 02 12:00pm
Speaker: Matteo Benetton, University of California at Berkeley
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"Leverage Regulation and Market Structure: A Structural Model of the UK Mortgage Market"

Wed, Apr 03 12:00pm
Speaker: David Wiczer, Stony Brook University
Host: Fernando Martin
"Earnings Growth, Job Flows and Churn"

Thu, Apr 04 12:00pm
Speaker: Franҫois Gourio, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"Accounting for Macro-Finance Trends: Market Power, Intangibles, and Risk Premia"

Wed, Apr 10 12:00pm
Speaker: Andrea Lanteri, Duke University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"Credit Shocks and Equilibrium Dynamics in Consumer Durable Goods Markets"

Fri, Apr 12 12:00pm
Speaker: Edouard Schaal, CREI/Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"Herding Cycles"

Mon, Apr 15 12:00pm
Speaker: Juan Pablo Nicolini, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Host: Paulina Restrepo-Echavarria
"International Evidence on Long Run Money Demand"

Thu, Apr 18 12:00pm
Speaker: Felipe Saffie, University of Maryland
Host: Maximiliano Dvorkin
"Income and Substitution Effects of Capital Inflows: A Firm-Level Analysis"

Mon, Apr 22 12:00pm
Speaker: Diego Daruich, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Universal Basic Income: A Good Idea? A Dynamic Assessment"

Wed, Apr 24 12:00pm
Speaker: Pierre-Olivier Weill, University of California-Los Angeles
Host: Paulina Restrepo-Echavarria
"A Theory of Participation in OTC and Centralized Markets"

Tue, Apr 30 12:00pm
Speaker: Julian Kozlowski, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

Wed, May 01 12:00pm
Speaker: Ludwig Straub, Harvard University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Wed, May 08 12:00pm
Speaker: Maurizio Mazzocco, University of California-Los Angeles
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Thu, May 09 12:00pm
Speaker: James Bullard and Guillaume Vandenbroucke, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

Mon, May 13 12:00pm
Speaker: Guillaume Vandenbroucke, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

Wed, May 15 12:00pm
Speaker: Pierre Yared, Columbia University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Fri, May 17 2:00pm *
Speaker: Jeffrey Smith, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Host: Oksana Leukhina
"TBD"

Mon, May 20 12:00pm
Speaker: William Dupor, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

Wed, May 22 12:00pm
Speaker: Adrien Auclert, Stanford University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Wed, May 29 12:00pm
Speaker: Nicola Limodio, Bocconi University
Host: Julian Kozlowski
"TBD"

Thu, Jun 06 12:00pm
Speaker: Ricardo Lagos, New York University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Tue, Jun 11 12:00pm
Speaker: Don Schlagenhauf, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"The Conquest of the Homeownership Dream: 1940-1960"

Wed, Jun 12 12:00pm
Speaker: Miguel Faria-e-Castro, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"A Quantitative Analysis of Countercyclical Capital Buffers"

Thu, Jun 20 12:00pm
Speaker: Fernando Leibovici, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

Mon, Jul 22 12:00pm
Speaker: Chen Lian, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Host: Julian Kozlowski
"TBD"

Tue, Jul 30 12:00pm
Speaker: Tiago Tavares, ITAM
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Thu, Aug 01 12:00pm
Speaker: Eunhee Lee, University of Maryland
Host: Maximiliano Dvorkin
"TBD"

Mon, Aug 05 12:00pm
Speaker: Michael Owyang, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Contagious Switching"

Wed, Aug 07 12:00pm
Speaker: Scott Baker, Kellogg School of Management-Northwestern University
Host: Julian Kozlowski
"TBD"

Mon, Aug 19 12:00pm
Speaker: Erin Wolcott, Middlebury College
Host: William Dupor
"TBD"

Thu, Aug 22 12:00pm
Speaker: Nelson Lind, Emory University
Host: Ana Maria Santacreu
"TBD"

Mon, Aug 26 12:00pm
Speaker: Deniz Aydin, Washington University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"Decomposing Present Value Effects: Evidence from a Large-Scale Restructuring"

Tue, Sep 17 12:00pm
Speaker: Dmitry Mukhin, Yale University
Host: Fernando Leibovici
"TBD"

Wed, Oct 02 12:00pm
Speaker: Narayana Kocherlakota, University of Rochester
Host: Carlos Garriga
"TBD"

Wed, Oct 09 12:00pm
Speaker: Stephanie Schmitt-Grohé, Columbia University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Mon, Oct 21 12:00pm
Speaker: Alberto Cavallo, Harvard Business School
Host: Julian Kozlowski
"TBD"

Wed, Oct 23 12:00pm
Speaker: Walker Ray, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Mon, Oct 28 12:00pm
Speaker: Oleksiy Kryvtsov, Bank of Canada
Host: William Dupor
"TBD"

Thu, Oct 31 12:00pm
Speaker: Sanjay R. Singh, University of California, Davis
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Mon, Nov 04 12:00pm
Speaker: Gaston Navarro, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Wed, Dec 04 12:00pm
Speaker: Kilian Huber, University of Chicago-Booth
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Wed, Dec 11 12:00pm
Speaker: Manuel Amador, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

*Labor Workshop Seminar, joint with the Department of Economics, Washington University in St. Louis. These seminars will take place at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

Past Seminars


Subscribe to our newsletter


Follow us

Back to Top