Skip to main content

Seminar Series

The Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis is sponsoring a Seminar Series on a wide variety of economic topics. Economists from across the country and around the world are invited to participate.

Unless otherwise noted, seminars will be held in the "Ted Balbach Conference Room" (formerly Research Conference Room), Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, One Federal Reserve Bank Plaza, at the corner of Broadway and Locust Street, St. Louis, MO. Seminars held at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis are open to the public. If you wish to attend, you must call Sandra Butler at (314) 444-8591 or LaTanya Johnson at (314) 444-8587, at least 24 hours in advance. All attendees are required to go though a security screening and will be asked to show a picture ID.

Questions or suggestions should be directed to Maria Canon (maria.e.canon@stls.frb.org) or YiLi Chien (yili.chien@stls.frb.org).

2015 Seminar Series

Wed, Jan 28 12:00pm
Speaker: Jonathan Vogel, Columbia University
Host: Ana Maria Santacreu
"Accounting for Changes in Between-Group Inequality"

Tue, Feb 10 12:00pm
Speaker: Giorgia Piacentino, Washington University
Host: Silvio Contessi
"Bank Capital, Bank Credit, and Unemployment"

Wed, Feb 11 12:00pm
Speaker: Raul Santaeulalia-Llopis, Washington University
Host: YiLi Chien
"Labor Share Decline and the Capitalization of Intellectual Property Products"

Fri, Feb 20 12:00pm *
Speaker: Rafael Lopes de Melo, University of Chicago
Host: Max Dvorkin and David Wiczer
"How Firms Affect Wages: A Structural Decomposition"

Fri, Feb 27 12:00pm *
Speaker: Thibaut Lamadon, University of Chicago
Host: Max Dvorkin and David Wiczer
"A Distributional Framework for Matched Employer Employee Data"

Wed, Mar 04 12:00pm **
Speaker: Francisco Buera, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Host: YiLi Chien
"Liquidity Traps and Monetary Policy: Managing a Credit Crunch"

Fri, Mar 06 12:00pm
Speaker: Ana Maria Santacreu, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"International R&D Spillovers and Asset Prices"

Tue, Mar 10 12:00pm
Speaker: Christopher Waller, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"On the Efficacy of QE at the Zero Lower Bound"

Tue, Mar 17 12:00pm
Speaker: Joel David, University of Southern California
Host: Guillaume Vandenbroucke
"The Risky Capital of Emerging Markets"

Thu, Mar 19 12:00pm
Speaker: Sewon Hur, University of Pittsburgh
Host: David Wiczer
"Firm Entry, Exit, and Aggregate Growth"

Fri, Mar 20 2:00pm ***
Speaker: Josh Kinsler, University of Rochester
Host: David Wiczer
"Distorted Beliefs and Parental Investment in Children"

Tue, Mar 24 12:00pm
Speaker: Feng Dong, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Host: Yi Wen
"Credit Search and Credit Cycles"

Wed, Mar 25 12:00pm **
Speaker: Ricardo Reis, Columbia University
Host: YiLi Chien and Yongs Shin
"Maintaining Central-Bank Solvency under New-Style Central Banking"

Fri, Mar 27 2:00pm ***
Speaker: Naoki Aizawa, University of Minnesota
Host: David Wiczer
"Health Insurance Exchange Design in an Empirical Equilibrium Labor Market Model"

Mon, Mar 30 12:00pm **
Speaker: Nils-Petter Lagerlöf, York University
Host: YiLi Chien
"Natural Borders"

Fri, Apr 03 2:00pm ***
Speaker: Christopher Neilson, New York University/Princeton
Host: David Wiczer`
"Student Loans, College Choice, and Information on the Returns to Higher Education"

Mon, Apr 06 12:00pm **
Speaker: Alexander Bick, Arizona State University
Host: YiLi Chien
"Taxation and Labor Supply of Married Couples across Countries: A Macroeconomic Analysis"

Tue, Apr 07 12:00pm
Speaker: Manolis Galenianos, University of London
Host: Fernando Martin
"Segmentation of Information and Unsecured Credit"

Wed, Apr 08 4:00pm
Speaker: Ufuk Akcigit, University of Pennsylvania
"Lack of Selection and Limits to Delegation: Firm Dynamics in Developing Countries"

Mon, Apr 13 12:00pm
Speaker: Chang-Tai Hsieh, University of Chicago
Host: YiLi Chien
"How Destructive is Innovation?"

Tue, Apr 14 12:00pm
Speaker: John Knowles, Simon Fraser University
Host: Guillaume Vandenbroucke
"Why Did the Share of Unmarried Births Increase after 1960?"

Wed, Apr 15 2:30pm ***
Speaker: Francois Gourio, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Host: YiLi Chien and Yongs Shin
"Risk Management for Monetary Policy Near the Zero Lower Bound"

Fri, Apr 17 2:00pm ***
Speaker: Salvador Navarro, University of Western Ontario
Host: David Wiczer
"On the Identification of Production Functions: How Heterogeneous is Productivity?"

Mon, Apr 20 12:00pm
Speaker: Guillaume Vandenbroucke, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Fertility Shocks and Equilibrium Marriage-Rate Dynamics: Lessons from World War 1 in France"

Tue, Apr 21 12:00pm
Speaker: Carlos Carrillo-Tudela, University of Essex
Host: Max Dvorkin
""The Cost of Job Loss”"

Wed, Apr 22 12:00pm **
Speaker: Urban Jermann, University of Pennsylvania
Host: YiLi Chien and Yongs Shin
"Sticky Leverage"

Mon, Apr 27 12:00pm **
Speaker: Karel Mertens, Cornell University
Host: YiLi Chien
"Marginal Tax Rates and Income: New Time Series Evidence"

Wed, Apr 29 12:00pm
Speaker: Nicolas Petrosky-Nadeau, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco and Carnegie Mellon University
Host: Silvio Contessi
"Unemployment Crises"

Thu, May 07 12:00pm
Speaker: Franck Portier, University of Toulouse
Host: Guillaume Vandenbroucke
"Reconciling Hayek's and Keynes' Views of Recessions"

Fri, May 08 12:00pm **
Speaker: Martin Hackmann, Penn State
Host: Max Dvorkin and David Wiczer
"Incentivizing Better Quality of Care: The Role of Medicaid and Competition in the Nursing Home Industry"

Mon, May 11 12:00pm
Speaker: Laura Pilossoph, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Host: David Wiczer`
"Statistical Discrimination and Duration Dependence in the Job Finding Rate"

Tue, May 12 12:00pm
Speaker: Moritz Kuhn, University of Bonn
Host: David Wiczer and Fernando Martin
"Earnings Losses and Labor Mobility over the Lifecycle"

Wed, May 13 12:00pm
Speaker: Max Dvorkin, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"The Impact of Trade on Labor Market Dynamics"

Fri, May 15 12:00pm *
Speaker: Cynthia Kinnan, Northwestern University
Host: Raul Santaeulalia-Llopis and David Wiczer
"Do Credit Constraints Limit Entrepreneurship? Heterogeneity in the Returns to Microfinance"

Mon, May 18 12:00pm
Speaker: Elena Manresa, MIT Sloan
Host: Carlos Garriga
"Estimating the Structure of Social Interactions Using Panel Data"

Tue, May 19 12:00pm
Speaker: Demian Pouzo, University of California-Berkeley
Host: Ana Maria Santacreu
"A Framework for Modeling Bounded Rationality: Mis-specified Bayesian-Markov Decision Processes"

Fri, May 22 12:00pm *
Speaker: Scott R. Baker, Northwestern University
Host: David Wiczer
"Debt and the Consumption Response to Household Income Shocks"

Wed, May 27 12:00pm
Speaker: Paulina Restrepo-Echavarria, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Sovereign Risk in Oil Exporting Economies"

Fri, May 29 12:00pm *
Speaker: Toshihiko Mukoyama, University of Virginia
Host: David Wiczer
"Employment Duration and Match Quality over the Business Cycle"

Mon, Jun 01 12:00pm
Speaker: Daniel Garcia-Macia, Stanford University
Host: Carlos Garriga
"The Financing of Ideas and the Great Deviation"

Tue, Jun 02 12:00pm
Speaker: Ferdinando Monte, Johns Hopkins University
Host: Max Dvorkin
"The Local Incidence of Trade Shocks"

Tue, Jun 09 12:00pm
Speaker: Jennifer Dlugosz, Washington University
Host: Christopher Neely
"The Federal Reserve's Discount Window and TAF Programs: Pushing on a String?"

Thu, Jun 18 12:00pm
Speaker: Wenlan Luo, Georgetown University
Host: Carlos Garriga
"Optimal Progressive Income Taxation with Endogenous Human Capital Accumulation"

Wed, Jul 01 12:00pm
Speaker: David Arseneau, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
Host: Michael McCracken
"Secondary Market Liquidity and the Optimal Capital Structure"

Wed, Jul 08 12:00pm
Speaker: Liyan Shi, University of California-Los Angeles
Host: YiLi Chien
"Transition to a New Economy: Intangible Capital and Financial Frictions"

Tue, Jul 14 12:00pm
Speaker: Deniz Erdemlioglu, IESEG School of Management
Host: Christopher Neely
"Financial Flights, Stock Market Linkages and Jump Excitation"

Wed, Jul 15 12:00pm
Speaker: Sunha Myong, Washington University
Host: Limor Golan
"Selective Universities, Family Income and Human Capital Accumulation"

Fri, Jul 17 12:00pm
Speaker: B. Ravikumar, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Host: YiLi Chien
"Explaining Cross-Cohort Differences in Life Cycle Earnings"

Mon, Jul 20 12:00pm
Speaker: Yongseok Shin, Washington University
Host: YiLi Chien
"Managing a Polarized Structural Transformation"

Thu, Jul 23 12:00pm
Speaker: Adam Blandin, Arizona State University
Host: YiLi Chien
"Learning by Doing and Ben-Porath: Life-cycle Predictions and Policy Analysis"

Mon, Jul 27 12:00pm
Speaker: Fernando Martin, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Host: YiLi Chien
"The Value of Constraints on Discretionary Government Policy"

Thu, Jul 30 12:00pm
Speaker: Semih Uslu, University of California-Los Angeles
Host: YiLi Chien
"Pricing and Liquidity in Decentralized Asset Markets"

Mon, Aug 03 12:00pm
Speaker: Joaquin Blaum, Brown University
Host: Maximiliano Dvorkin
"The Gains From Input Trade In Firm-Based Models of Importing"

Tue, Aug 04 12:00pm
Speaker: Jonathan James, California Polytechnic State
Host: Limor Golan
"The Path to College Education: Are Verbal Skills More Important than Math Skills"

Wed, Aug 05 12:00pm
Speaker: Carlos Garriga, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Host: YiLi Chien
"Constructing the Post-War Housing Boom"

Thu, Aug 06 12:00pm
Speaker: Juan Sanchez, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Host: YiLi Chien
"Natural Resources and Global Misallocation"

Wed, Aug 19 12:00pm
Speaker: Subhayu Bandyopadhyay, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Host: YiLi Chien
"Does Terrorism Reduce International Trade?"

Thu, Aug 20 12:00pm
Speaker: Samer Shousha, Columbia University
"Macroeconomic Effects of Commodity Booms and Busts"

Thu, Aug 27 12:00pm
Speaker: Baris Kaymak, University of Montreal
Host: Juan Sanchez
"The Evolution of Wealth Inequality over Half a Century: The Role of Taxes, Transfers and Technology"

Fri, Aug 28 12:00pm *
Speaker: Rasmus Lentz, University of Wisconsin
Host: Max Dvorkin and Nicolas Roys
"Search and Training on the Job"

Wed, Sep 02 12:00pm
Speaker: Steve Williamson, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Host: YiLi Chien
"Interest on Reserves, Interbank Lending, and Monetary Policy"

Tue, Sep 08 12:00pm
Speaker: Saroj Bhattarai, University of Texas-Austin
Host: Alexander Monge-Naranjo
"Time Consistency and the Duration of Government Debt: A Signalling Theory of Quantitative Easing"

Wed, Sep 09 12:00pm
Speaker: YiLi Chien, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Characterization of Constrained-Efficient Allocations in Dynamic Mirrleesian Economies: A Multiplier Approach"

Mon, Sep 14 12:00pm **
Speaker: Riccardo Colacito, University of North Carolina
Host: YiLi Chien
"BKK the EZ Way: International Long-Run Growth News and Capital Flows"

Tue, Sep 15 12:00pm
Speaker: Saki Bigio, Columbia Business School
Host: Steve Williamson
"TBD"

Wed, Sep 16 12:00pm
Speaker: Robert Miller, Carnegie Mellon University
Host: Limor Golan
"Bidding Frictions in Ascending Auctions"

Thu, Sep 17 12:00pm
Speaker: Morris Davis, Rutgers University
Host: Carlos Garriga
"Neighborhood Choices, Neighborhood Effects, Rents and Moving to Opportunity"

Mon, Sep 21 12:00pm **
Speaker: Tao Zha, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
Host: Yi Wen and YiLi Chien
"Assessing the Macroeconomic Impact of Bank Intermediation Shocks: A Structural Approach"

Tue, Sep 22 12:00pm
Speaker: Andrew Shephard, University of Pennsylvania
Host: George Levi-Gayle
"TBD"

Thu, Sep 24 12:00pm
Speaker: Pablo Fajgelbaum, University of California-Los Angeles
Host: Carlos Garriga
"State Taxes and Spatial Misallocation"

Tue, Sep 29 12:00pm
Speaker: Michael Owyang, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Host: YiLi Chien
"TBD"

Wed, Sep 30 12:00pm
Speaker: Christopher Neely, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Host: YiLi Chien
"TBD"

Thu, Oct 01 12:00pm
Speaker: Adrien Verdelhan, MIT
Host: YiLi Chien
"TBD"

Fri, Oct 02 12:00pm *
Speaker: Fabian Lange, McGill University
Host: Max Dvorkin
"TBD"

Tue, Oct 13 12:00pm
Speaker: Limor Golan, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Host: YiLi Chien
"TBD"

Wed, Oct 14 12:00pm
Speaker: Taisuke Nakata, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
Host: Ana Maria Santacreu
"TBD"

Mon, Oct 19 12:00pm
Speaker: Fabrice Collard, University of Bern
Host: Yi Wen
"Quantifying Confidence"

Wed, Oct 21 12:00pm
Speaker: Michael McCracken, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Host: YiLi Chien
"TBD"

Mon, Oct 26 12:00pm **
Speaker: Andrew Atkeson, University of California-Los Angeles
Host: YiLi Chien
"The Aggregate Implications of Innovation Policies"

Thu, Oct 29 12:00pm
Speaker: Yi Wen, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Host: YiLi Chien
"TBD"

Wed, Nov 04 12:00pm
Speaker: William Dupor, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Host: YiLi Chien
"Regional Fiscal Multipliers and Macroeconomics"

Thu, Nov 05 12:00pm
Speaker: Alejandro Badel, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Host: YiLi Chien
"TBD"

Fri, Nov 13 12:00pm *
Speaker: Rafael Dix-Carneiro, Duke University
Host: Max Dvorkin
"TBD"

Mon, Nov 16 12:00pm **
Speaker: Benjamin Moll, Princeton University
Host: YiLi Chien
"TBD"

Tue, Nov 17 12:00pm
Speaker: Johannes Brumm, University of Zurich
Host: B. Ravikumar
"TBD"

Wed, Nov 18 12:00pm
Speaker: Daniel da Mata, Institute for Applied Economic Research
Host: Alexander Monge-Naranjo
"TBD"

Fri, Nov 20 12:00pm *
Speaker: Jeremy Lise, University College London
Host: Nicolas Roys
"TBD"

Mon, Nov 23 12:00pm
Speaker: Guillermo Ordonez, University of Pennsylvania
Host: YiLi Chien
"TBD"

Fri, Dec 04 12:00pm *
Speaker: Aloysius Siow, University of Toronto
Host: George Levi-Gayle
"TBD"

Tue, Dec 08 12:00pm
Speaker: Guillaume Rocheteau, University of California-Irvine
Host: Stephen Williamson
"TBD"

Wed, Dec 09 12:00pm
Speaker: David Wiczer, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

Fri, Dec 11 12:00pm *
Speaker: Giovanni Gallipoli, Vancouver School of Economics
Host: George-Levi Gayle
"TBD"

*Labor Workshop Seminar, joint with the Department of Economics, Washington University in St. Louis. These seminars will take place at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

**Joint with the Department of Economics, Washington University in St. Louis. These seminars will take place at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

***Joint with the Department of Economics, Washington University in St. Louis. These seminars will take place at Washington University in St. Louis. Please visit http://economics.wustl.edu/events/workshops for further information.

Past Seminars


Subscribe to our newsletter


Follow us

Twitter logo Google Plus logo Facebook logo YouTube logo LinkedIn logo
Back to Top