Skip to main content

Seminar Series

The Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis is sponsoring a Seminar Series on a wide variety of economic topics. Economists from across the country and around the world are invited to participate.

Unless otherwise noted, seminars will be held in the "Ted Balbach Conference Room" (formerly Research Conference Room), Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, One Federal Reserve Bank Plaza, at the corner of Broadway and Locust Street, St. Louis, MO. Seminars held at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis are open to the public. If you wish to attend, you must call Sandra Butler at (314) 444-8591 or LaTanya Johnson at (314) 444-8587, at least 24 hours in advance. All attendees are required to go though a security screening and will be asked to show a picture ID.

Questions or suggestions should be directed to David Wiczer (david.g.wiczer@stls.frb.org) or YiLi Chien (yili.chien@stls.frb.org).

2016 Seminar Series

Fri, Jan 08 12:00pm
Speaker: Benjamin Villena, University of Chile
Host: Juan Sanchez
"Do High-Wage Jobs Attract more Applicants? Directed Search Evidence from the Online Labor Market"

Mon, Jan 11 12:00pm
Speaker: Tom Holden, University of Surrey
Host: Christopher Neely
"Existence, Uniqueness and Computation of Solutions to Dynamic Models with Occasionally Binding Constraints"

Mon, Feb 01 12:00pm
Speaker: James Nason, NC State University
Host: Michael McCracken
"Inflation and Professional Forecast Dynamics: An Evaluation of Stickiness, Persistence, and Volatility"

Thu, Feb 04 12:00pm
Speaker: Enrique Mendoza, University of Pennsylvania
Host: Paulina Restrepo-Echavarria
"Optimal Time-Consistent Macroprudential Policy"

Tue, Feb 16 12:00pm
Speaker: Scott Schuh, Federal Reserve Bank of Boston
Host: Guillaume Vandenbroucke
"Consumer Revolving Credit and Debt over the Life Cycle and Business Cycle"

Thu, Feb 18 12:00pm
Speaker: George-Levi Gayle, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Was Sarbanes-Oxley Costly? Evidence from Optimal Contracting on CEO Compensation"

Tue, Feb 23 12:00pm
Speaker: Matthias Doepke, Northwestern University
Host: Paulina Restrepo-Echavarria
"Bargaining over Babies: Theory, Evidence, and Policy Implications"

Fri, Feb 26 12:00pm *
Speaker: Nathaniel Baum-Snow, University of Toronto
Host: David Wiczer
"Causes and Consequences of Central Neighborhood Change, 1970-2010"

Tue, Mar 01 12:00pm
Speaker: David de la Croix, Université Catholique de Louvain
Host: Guillaume Vandenbroucke
"Development Policies when Accounting for the Extensive Margin of Fertility"

Mon, Mar 07 12:00pm
Speaker: Jan Eeckhout, Universitat Pompeu Fabra & University College London
Host: Maximiliano Dvorkin
"Unemployment Cycles"

Tue, Mar 08 12:00pm
Speaker: Christopher Taber, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Host: Nicolas Roys
"Estimation of a Roy/Search/Compensating Differential Model of the Labor Market"

Wed, Mar 09 12:00pm *
Speaker: Kurt Mitman, Institute for International Economic Studies
Host: David Wiczer`
"Labor Market Implications of Unemployment Benefit Extensions"

Thu, Mar 17 12:00pm
Speaker: Paulina Restrepo-Echavarria, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Host: YiLi Chien
"Targeted Search in Matching Markets"

Mon, Mar 21 12:00pm
Speaker: Benjamin Bridgman, Bureau of Economic Analysis
Host: Guillaume Vandenbroucke
"Engines of Leisure"

Fri, Mar 25 12:00pm *
Speaker: Rebecca Lessem, Carnegie Mellon University
Host: Limor Golan
"Immigrant Wages and Recessions: Evidence from Undocumented Mexicans"

Mon, Mar 28 12:00pm
Speaker: Ctirad Slavik, Goethe University Frankfurt
Host: Alexander Monge-Naranjo
"Wage Risk and the Skill Premium"

Tue, Apr 05 12:00pm
Speaker: Ariel Burstein, University of California-Los Angeles
Host: Paulina Restrepo-Echavarria
"International Trade, Technology and the Skill Premium"

Tue, Apr 12 12:00pm
Speaker: Cesar Sosa-Padilla, McMaster University
Host: Juan Sanchez
"Sovereign Defaults and Banking Crises"

Thu, Apr 14 12:00pm
Speaker: Michael Owyang, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"State Labor Market Conditions Indices"

Mon, Apr 18 12:00pm
Speaker: Christian vom Lehn, Brigham Young University
Host: Guillaume Vandenbroucke
"Male Labor Supply and Generational Fiscal Policy"

Tue, Apr 19 12:00pm
Speaker: Juan Pablo Rud, Royal Holloway University
Host: Alexander Monge-Naranjo
"Wage Dispersion, Job Creation and Development: Evidence from Sub-Saharan Africa"

Thu, Apr 21 12:00pm
Speaker: Pawel Krolikowski, Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland
Host: Guillaume Vandenbroucke
"Job Ladders and Earnings of Displaced Workers"

Mon, Apr 25 12:00pm
Speaker: Oksana Leukhina, University of Washington
Host: Juan Sanchez
"How Risky is College Investment?"

Wed, Apr 27 12:00pm
Speaker: Adrien Auclert, Princeton University
Host: Carlos Garriga
"Monetary Union Begets Fiscal Union"

Thu, Apr 28 12:00pm
Speaker: Hector Chade, Arizona State University
Host: Paulina Restrepo-Echavarria
"The Market for Lemons: Costly Insurance, Coverage Denials and Pooling"

Wed, May 04 12:00pm
Speaker: Kai Zhao, University of Connecticut
Host: Carlos Garriga
"Employment-Based Health Insurance and Aggregate Labor Supply"

Thu, May 05 12:00pm
Speaker: Fatih Karahan, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Host: David Wiczer
"Demographic Origins of the Startup Deficit"

Fri, May 06 12:00pm *
Speaker: Mike Elsby, University of Edinburgh
Host: David Wiczer
"The Aggregate Effects of Labor Market Frictions"

Mon, May 09 12:00pm
Speaker: Kieran Walsh, University of Virginia
Host: David Wiczer
"A Theory of Portfolio Choice and Partial Default"

Tue, May 10 12:00pm
Speaker: Jonathan Eaton, Penn State University
Host: Ana M. Santacreu
"Obstfeld and Rogoff's International Macro Puzzles: A Quantitative Assessment"

Mon, May 16 12:00pm
Speaker: Markus Poschke, McGill University, Montreal
Host: Juan Sanchez
"Capital-Labor Substitution, Structural Change and the Labor Income Share"

Tue, May 17 12:00pm
Speaker: Marcelo Veracierto, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Host: Maximiliano Dvorkin
"Adverse Selection, Risk Sharing and Business Cycles"

Wed, May 18 12:00pm *
Speaker: Florian Hoffmann, University of British Columbia
Host: David Wiczer
"Training Programs, Skills, and Human Capital: A Life-Cycle Approach"

Fri, May 20 12:00pm *
Speaker: William Hawkins, Yeshiva University
Host: David Wiczer
"A Stock-Flow Theory of Unemployment with Endogenous Match Formation"

Mon, May 23 12:00pm
Speaker: Shu Lin Wee, Carnegie Mellon
Host: David Wiczer
"Rational Inattention in Hiring Decisions"

Tue, May 24 12:00pm
Speaker: Jose Mustre-del-Rio, Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City
Host: Juan Sanchez
"Financial Frictions and Occupational Mobility"

Wed, May 25 12:00pm
Speaker: Michael Peters, Yale University
Host: Maximiliano Dvorkin
"Cheap Workers and Local Industrialization - Evidence from Germany’s Post-War Population Transfer"

Tue, May 31 12:00pm
Speaker: Manuel Santos, University of Miami School of Business
Host: Juan Sanchez
"Technology Eras and Their Impact on the US Labor Market"

Wed, Jun 01 12:00pm
Speaker: Nicolas Roys, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Skill Prices, Occupations and Changes in the Wage Structure"

Fri, Jun 10 12:00pm
Speaker: Jessie Wang, Arizona State University
"Distress Dispersion and Systemic Risk in Networks"

Tue, Jun 14 12:00pm
Speaker: Giovanni Nicoló, University of California-Los Angeles
Host: Guillaume Vandenbroucke
"A Generalized Approach to Indeterminacy in Linear Rational Expectations Models"

Thu, Jun 16 12:00pm
Speaker: Ana Maria Santacreu, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Knowledge Diffusion, Innovation and Trade in a Multi-sector Model"

Fri, Jun 24 12:00pm
Speaker: Alejandro Badel, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Top Earners: Cross Country Facts"

Wed, Jul 06 12:00pm
Speaker: YiLi Chien, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Aiyagari Meets Ramsey: Optimal Capital Taxation with Incomplete Markets"

Fri, Jul 08 12:00pm
Speaker: Aaron Hedlund, University of Missouri
"Mortgage Debt, Consumption, and Illiquid Housing Markets during the Great Recession"

Tue, Jul 12 12:00pm
Speaker: Todd Schoellman, Arizona State University
Host: B. Ravikumar
"Human Capital and Development Accounting: New Evidence from Wage Gains at Migration"

Fri, Jul 22 12:00pm
Speaker: Michael McCracken, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Tests of Equal Accuracy for Nested Models with Estimated Factors"

Wed, Jul 27 12:00pm
Speaker: Mark Colas, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Host: Carlos Garriga
"Dynamic Responses to Immigration"

Fri, Jul 29 12:00pm
Speaker: Joaquin Garcia-Cabo Herrero, University of Minnesota
Host: Juan Sanchez and Carlos Garriga
"Countercyclical Labor Productivity and Two-tier Labor Markets"

Mon, Aug 01 12:00pm
Speaker: Nora Traum, North Carolina State University
Host: Michael Owyang
"Hours and Employment over the Business Cycle"

Wed, Aug 03 2:00pm
Speaker: Berthold Herrendorf, Arizona State University
Host: Carlos Garriga
"Unbalanced Growth Slowdown"

Thu, Aug 04 12:00pm
Speaker: Aspen Gorry, Utah State University
Host: Carlos Garriga
"The Welfare Cost of Retirement Uncertainty"

Mon, Aug 08 12:00pm
Speaker: Raphael Schoenle, Brandeis University
Host: B. Ravikumar
"Production Networks and the Propagation of Monetary Policy Shocks"

Tue, Aug 09 12:00pm
Speaker: Julian Kozlowski, New York University
Host: Juan Sanchez
"Long-Term Finance and Economic Development: The Role of Liquidity in Corporate Debt Markets"

Wed, Aug 10 12:00pm
Speaker: Christine Braun, University of California-Santa Barbara
Host: B. Ravikumar
"Crime and the Minimum Wage"

Wed, Aug 17 12:00pm
Speaker: Toan Phan, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Host: Juan Sanchez
"Financial Integration and the Bubbly Savings Glut"

Thu, Aug 18 12:00pm
Speaker: Vincent Sterk, University College London
Host: B. Ravikumar
"The Dark Corners of the Labor Market"

Mon, Aug 22 12:00pm
Speaker: Stephanie Lo, Harvard University
Host: Carlos Garriga
"The Time-Varying Price of Financial Intermediation in the Mortgage Market"

Tue, Aug 23 12:00pm
Speaker: Mitch Downey, University of California-San Diego
Host: Michael Owyang
"Losers go to Jail: Congressional Elections and Union Officer Prosecutions"

Wed, Aug 24 12:00pm
Speaker: Callum Jones, New York University
Host: Juan Sanchez
"Dividend or Curse? Demographic Trends and the US Economy"

Mon, Aug 29 12:00pm
Speaker: William Dupor, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Local and Aggregate Fiscal Policy Multipliers"

Tue, Aug 30 12:00pm
Speaker: Juan Sanchez, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Technology Adoption and Endogenous Debt Maturity: Liquidity Risk vs Default Risk"

Fri, Sep 02 12:00pm
Speaker: Roman Sustek, Queen Mary University of London
Host: Carlos Garriga
"On the Mechanics of New-Keynesian Models"

Wed, Sep 07 12:00pm
Speaker: Stephen Williamson, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Low Real Interest Rates and the Zero Lower Bound"

Thu, Sep 08 12:00pm
Speaker: Subhayu Bandyopadhyay, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Disentangling the Wage Impacts of Offshoring on a Developing Country: Theory and Policy"

Tue, Sep 13 12:00pm
Speaker: Gregor Jarosch, Stanford University
Host: B. Ravikumar
"Meeting Technologies in Decentralized Asset Markets"

Wed, Sep 21 12:00pm
Speaker: David Weiss, The Eitan Berglas School of Economics
Host: Guillaume Vandenbroucke
"Women's Liberation as a Financial Innovation"

Thu, Sep 22 12:00pm
Speaker: David Lagakos, University of California-San Diego
Host: Guillaume Vandenbroucke
"Intergenerational Mobility in the Developing World"

Mon, Sep 26 12:00pm
Speaker: Daniel Wills, University of Pennsylvania
Host: Juan Sanchez
"On the Taxation of Firms under Financial Frictions"

Tue, Sep 27 12:00pm
Speaker: François de Soyres, Toulouse University
Host: Ana M. Santacreu
"Value Added and Productivity Linkages Across Countries"

Fri, Sep 30 12:00pm
Speaker: Pamela Labadie, The George Washington University
Host: Carlos Garriga
"Optimal Central Bank Policy in a Model of Regional Liquidity Shocks"

Tue, Oct 04 12:00pm
Speaker: Aysegul Sahin, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Host: B. Ravikumar
"TBD"

Fri, Oct 07 2:00pm *
Speaker: Mallika Thomas, Cornell University
Host: David Wiczer
"The Impact of Mandated Maternity Benefits on the Gender Differential in Promotions: Examining the Role of Adverse Selection"

Tue, Oct 18 12:00pm
Speaker: Christiane Baumeister, Notre Dame
Host: Michael Owyang
"TBD"

Tue, Nov 01 12:00pm
Speaker: Veronica Rappoport, London School of Economics
Host: Paulina Restrepo-Echavarria
"TBD"

Wed, Nov 09 12:00pm
Speaker: Stefano Eusepi, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Host: B. Ravikumar
"TBD"

Fri, Nov 18 2:00pm *
Speaker: Theodore Papageorgiou, McGill University
Host: Maximiliano Dvorkin
"TBD"

Mon, Nov 21 12:00pm
Speaker: Jianjun Miao, Boston University
Host: Yi Wen
"TBD"

Tue, Nov 22 12:00pm
Speaker: Fernando Broner, CREI-Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Host: Ana M. Santacreu
"TBD"

Tue, Dec 06 12:00pm
Speaker: Salvador Ortigueira, University of Miami
Host: Maximiliano Dvorkin
"TBD"

Wed, Dec 07 12:00pm
Speaker: Manuel Garcia-Santana, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Host: Alexander Monge-Naranjo
"TBD"

Mon, Dec 12 12:00pm
Speaker: Petr Sedláček, University of Bonn
Host: B. Ravikumar
"TBD"

Thu, Dec 15 12:00pm
Speaker: Maxim Troshkin, Cornell University
Host: B. Ravikumar
"TBD"

Fri, Dec 16 12:00pm
Speaker: George Selgin, Cato Institute
Host: David Andolfatto
"TBD"

*Labor Workshop Seminar, joint with the Department of Economics, Washington University in St. Louis. These seminars will take place at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

Past Seminars


Subscribe to our newsletter


Follow us

Twitter logo Google Plus logo Facebook logo YouTube logo LinkedIn logo
Back to Top