Skip to main content

Upcoming Seminar Series

The Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis sponsors a seminar series that covers a wide variety of economic topics. Economists from across the country and around the world are invited to participate.

Unless otherwise noted, seminars are held in the Ted Balbach Conference Room (formerly Research Conference Room), Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, One Federal Reserve Bank Plaza, at the corner of Broadway and Locust Street, St. Louis, MO. Seminars held at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis are open to the public. If you wish to attend, you must contact us via email at Research.Seminar@stls.frb.org at least 24 hours in advance. All attendees are required to go through a security screening and will be asked to show a valid photo ID.

Questions or suggestions should be directed to Research.Seminar@stls.frb.org.

2019 Seminar Series

Thu, Sep 19 12:00pm
Speaker: Romina Ruprecht, University of Basel
"On the Negatives of Negative Interest Rates and the Positives of Exemption Thresholds"

Fri, Sep 20 12:00pm
Speaker: Subhayu Bandyopadhyay, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"Truncated Productivity Distributions and Trade Margins"

Tue, Sep 24 12:00pm
Speaker: Ana Maria Santacreu, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

Thu, Sep 26 12:00pm
Speaker: Alessandra Fogli, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"The End of the American Dream? Inequality and Segregation in US Cities"

Fri, Sep 27 2:00pm *
Speaker: Jorge Balat, University of Texas at Austin
Host: Maximiliano Dvorkin
"TBD"

Mon, Sep 30 12:00pm
Speaker: Guido Menzio, New York University
Host: Paulina Restrepo-Echavarria
"Declining Search Frictions, Unemployment and Growth"

Wed, Oct 02 12:00pm
Speaker: Narayana Kocherlakota, University of Rochester
Host: Carlos Garriga
"21st Century Macro"

Fri, Oct 04 12:00pm
Speaker: Fernando Martin, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

Mon, Oct 07 12:00pm
Speaker: Stephanie Schmitt-Grohé, Columbia University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"Exchange Rates and Uncovered Interest Differentials: The Role of Permanent Monetary Shocks"

Tue, Oct 15 12:00pm
Speaker: Matias Cortes, York University
Host: Alexander Monge-Naranjo
"TBD"

Thu, Oct 17 12:00pm
Speaker: Greg Howard, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Host: Don Schlagenhauf
"Regional Divergence and House Prices"

Fri, Oct 18 2:00pm *
Speaker: Jing Li, MIT Sloan
Host: Sungki Hong
"TBD"

Mon, Oct 21 12:00pm
Speaker: Alberto Cavallo, Harvard Business School
Host: Julian Kozlowski
"TBD"

Wed, Oct 23 12:00pm
Speaker: Walker Ray, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Fri, Oct 25 2:00pm *
Speaker: Pascual Restrepo, Boston University
Host: Maximiliano Dvorkin
"Uneven Growth: Automation's Impact on Income and Wealth Inequality"

Mon, Oct 28 12:00pm
Speaker: Oleksiy Kryvtsov, Bank of Canada
Host: William Dupor
"Multi-Product Pricing: Theory and Evidence From Large Retailers in Israel"

Thu, Oct 31 12:00pm
Speaker: Sanjay R. Singh, University of California, Davis
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Mon, Nov 04 12:00pm
Speaker: Gaston Navarro, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Wed, Nov 06 12:00pm
Speaker: Andrew Abel, The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Tue, Nov 12 12:00pm
Speaker: Michael McCracken, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

Fri, Nov 15 2:00pm *
Speaker: Paul Scott, New York University Stern School of Business
Host: Sungki Hong
"TBD"

Tue, Nov 19 12:00pm
Speaker: Christopher Neely, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

Fri, Nov 22 12:00pm
Speaker: Angela Vossmeyer, Claremont McKenna College
Host: David Wheelock
"TBD"

Wed, Dec 04 12:00pm
Speaker: Kilian Huber, University of Chicago-Booth
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Tue, Dec 10 12:00pm
Speaker: Joseba Martinez, London Business School
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Wed, Dec 11 12:00pm
Speaker: Manuel Amador, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Thu, Dec 19 12:00pm
Speaker: David Wheelock, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

2020 Seminar Series

Fri, Mar 20 2:00pm *
Speaker: Daniel Goetz, University of Toronto
Host: Sungki Hong
"TBD"

Wed, Mar 25 12:00pm
Speaker: Jesse Schreger, Columbia University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Fri, Mar 27 2:00pm *
Speaker: Titan Alon, University of California-San Diego
Host: Maximiliano Dvorkin
"TBD"

Mon, Mar 30 12:00pm
Speaker: Timo Boppart, Institute for International Economic Studies
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Wed, Apr 15 12:00pm
Speaker: Christina Patterson, University of Chicago-Booth
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Fri, Apr 17 2:00pm *
Speaker: Flavio Cunha, Rice University
Host: Oksana Leukhina
"TBD"

Wed, Apr 29 12:00pm
Speaker: Jonathan Payne, Princeton University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Wed, May 06 12:00pm
Speaker: Federico Huneeus, Yale University
Host: Fernando Leibovici
"TBD"

Mon, May 11 12:00pm
Speaker: Basile Grassi, Bocconi University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Mon, May 18 12:00pm
Speaker: Sergio Rebelo, Northwesten University
Host: Miguel Faria-e-Castro
"TBD"

Fri, Dec 11 12:00pm
Speaker: B. Ravikumar, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

*Labor Workshop Seminar, joint with the Department of Economics, Washington University in St. Louis. These seminars will take place at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

Past Seminars

Subscribe to RSS Feeds and be notified of seminar announcements and other updates.