Seminar Series

The Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis is sponsoring a Seminar Series on a wide variety of economic topics. Economists from across the country and around the world are invited to participate.

Unless otherwise noted, seminars will be held in the "Ted Balbach Conference Room" (formerly Research Conference Room), Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, One Federal Reserve Bank Plaza, at the corner of Broadway and Locust Street, St. Louis, MO. Seminars held at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis are open to the public. If you wish to attend, you must call Sandra Butler at (314) 444-8591 or LaTanya Johnson at (314) 444-8587, at least 24 hours in advance. All attendees are required to go though a security screening and will be asked to show a picture ID.

Questions or suggestions should be directed to David Wiczer (David.G.Wiczer@stls.frb.org) or YiLi Chien (yili.chien@stls.frb.org).

2015 Seminar Series

Wed, Jan 28 12:00pm
Speaker: Jonathan Vogel, Columbia University
Host: Ana Maria Santacreu
"Accounting for Changes in Between-Group Inequality"

Tue, Feb 10 12:00pm
Speaker: Giorgia Piacentino, Washington University
Host: Silvio Contessi
"Bank Capital, Bank Credit, and Unemployment"

Wed, Feb 11 12:00pm
Speaker: Raul Santaeulalia-Llopis, Washington University
Host: YiLi Chien
"Labor Share Decline and the Capitalization of Intellectual Property Products"

Fri, Feb 20 12:00pm *
Speaker: Rafael Lopes de Melo, University of Chicago
Host: Max Dvorkin and David Wiczer
"How Firms Affect Wages: A Structural Decomposition"

Fri, Feb 27 12:00pm *
Speaker: Thibaut Lamadon, University of Chicago
Host: Max Dvorkin and David Wiczer
"A Distributional Framework for Matched Employer Employee Data"

Wed, Mar 04 12:00pm **
Speaker: Francisco Buera, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Host: YiLi Chien
"Liquidity Traps and Monetary Policy: Managing a Credit Crunch"

Fri, Mar 06 12:00pm
Speaker: Ana Maria Santacreu, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"International R&D Spillovers and Asset Prices"

Tue, Mar 10 12:00pm
Speaker: Christopher Waller, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"On the Efficacy of QE at the Zero Lower Bound"

Tue, Mar 17 12:00pm
Speaker: Joel David, University of Southern California
Host: Guillaume Vandenbroucke
"The Risky Capital of Emerging Markets"

Thu, Mar 19 12:00pm
Speaker: Sewon Hur, University of Pittsburgh
Host: David Wiczer
"Firm Entry, Exit, and Aggregate Growth"

Fri, Mar 20 2:00pm ***
Speaker: Josh Kinsler, University of Rochester
Host: David Wiczer
"Distorted Beliefs and Parental Investment in Children"

Tue, Mar 24 12:00pm
Speaker: Feng Dong, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Host: Yi Wen
"Credit Search and Credit Cycles"

Wed, Mar 25 12:00pm **
Speaker: Ricardo Reis, Columbia University
Host: YiLi Chien and Yongs Shin
"Maintaining Central-Bank Solvency under New-Style Central Banking"

Fri, Mar 27 2:00pm ***
Speaker: Naoki Aizawa, University of Minnesota
Host: David Wiczer
"Health Insurance Exchange Design in an Empirical Equilibrium Labor Market Model"

Mon, Mar 30 12:00pm **
Speaker: Nils-Petter Lagerlöf, York University
Host: YiLi Chien
"Natural Borders"

Fri, Apr 03 2:00pm ***
Speaker: Christopher Neilson, New York University/Princeton
Host: David Wiczer`
"TBD"

Mon, Apr 06 12:00pm **
Speaker: Alexander Bick, Arizona State University
Host: YiLi Chien
"TBD"

Tue, Apr 07 12:00pm
Speaker: Manolis Galenianos, University of London
Host: Fernando Martin
"TBD"

Wed, Apr 08 4:00pm
Speaker: Ufuk Akcigit, University of Pennsylvania
"TBD"

Mon, Apr 13 12:00pm
Speaker: Chang-Tai Hsieh, University of Chicago
Host: YiLi Chien
"TBD"

Wed, Apr 15 4:00pm ***
Speaker: Francois Gourio, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Host: YiLi Chien and Yongs Shin
"Risk Management for Monetary Policy Near the Zero Lower Bound"

Thu, Apr 16 12:00pm
Speaker: John Knowles, Simon Fraser University
Host: Guillaume Vandenbroucke
"TBD"

Fri, Apr 17 2:00pm ***
Speaker: Salvador Navarro, University of Western Ontario
Host: David Wiczer
"On the Identification of Production Functions: How Heterogeneous is Productivity?"

Mon, Apr 20 12:00pm
Speaker: Guillaume Vandenbroucke, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
"TBD"

Tue, Apr 21 12:00pm
Speaker: Carlos Carrillo-Tudela, University of Essex
Host: Max Dvorkin
"TBD"

Wed, Apr 22 12:00pm **
Speaker: Urban Jermann, University of Pennsylvania
Host: YiLi Chien and Yongs Shin
"TBD"

Mon, Apr 27 12:00pm **
Speaker: Karel Mertens, Cornell University
Host: YiLi Chien
"Marginal Tax Rates and Income: New Time Series Evidence"

Tue, Apr 28 12:00pm
Speaker: Nicolas Petrosky-Nadeau, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco and Carnegie Mellon University
Host: Silvio Contessi
"TBD"

Wed, May 06 12:00pm **
Speaker: Olivier Jeanne, Johns Hopkins University
Host: YiLi Chien
"TBD"

Thu, May 07 12:00pm
Speaker: Franck Portier, University of Toulouse
Host: Guillaume Vandenbroucke
"TBD"

Fri, May 08 12:00pm **
Speaker: Martin Hackmann, Penn State
Host: Max Dvorkin and David Wiczer
"TBD"

Mon, May 11 12:00pm
Speaker: Laura Pilossoph, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Host: David Wiczer`
"TBD"

Tue, May 12 12:00pm
Speaker: Moritz Kuhn, University of Bonn
Host: David Wiczer and Fernando Martin
"TBD"

Fri, May 15 12:00pm *
Speaker: Cynthia Kinnan, Northwestern University
Host: Raul Santaeulalia-Llopis and David Wiczer
"TBD"

Tue, May 19 12:00pm
Speaker: Demian Pouzo, University of California-Berkeley
Host: Ana Maria Santacreu
"TBD"

Fri, May 22 12:00pm *
Speaker: Scott R. Baker, Northwestern University
Host: David Wiczer
"TBD"

Fri, May 29 12:00pm *
Speaker: Toshihiko Mukoyama, University of Virginia
Host: David Wiczer
"TBD"

Tue, Jul 14 12:00pm
Speaker: Deniz Erdemlioglu, IESEG School of Management
Host: Christopher Neely
"TBD"

Mon, Sep 21 12:00pm **
Speaker: Tao Zha, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
Host: Yi Wen and YiLi Chien
"TBD"

*Labor Workshop Seminar, joint with the Department of Economics, Washington University in St. Louis. These seminars will take place at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

**Joint with the Department of Economics, Washington University in St. Louis. These seminars will take place at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

***Joint with the Department of Economics, Washington University in St. Louis. These seminars will take place at Washington University in St. Louis. Please visit http://economics.wustl.edu/events/workshops for further information.

Past Seminars

Subscribe to RSS Feeds and be notified of seminar announcements and other updates.


Recently Viewed Series


Subscribe to our newsletter for updates on published research, data news, and latest econ information.
Name:   Email:  
Twitter logo Google Plus logo Facebook logo YouTube logo LinkedIn logo